Loading...
 

Authentication and Permissions

Authentication

When the user clicks a social login button (Facebook, Twitter, Linkedin, etc), the corresponding social network application is activated. This establishes a connection with the social networking site itself at which point the user is prompted to identify themselves by entering their login credentials.

Important
If a user already has an open session with the selected social network, that user will skip the user authentication step and proceed directly to the user permission step.

 

Permissions

Requesting user permissions is the most important step in the user login journey because without explicit user consent, you cannot access any of the user's social data. You decide which user permissions to request based on what social user data you would like to know about each user.  

For more information on which user permissions you can request, have a look at our Social Login Buttons guide.

Each social network handles user authentication and the request for user permissions slightly differently. In effect the social login experience for each social network mirrors the regular login steps that a user would experience when logging on.

 

 


Step 1.
Facebook Authentication 213

Facebook separates the Authentication and Permissions into 2 steps.






Step 2.
Facebook Authentication.004

After identifying themselves to Facebook by entering their Facebook account credentials, the user has the option to "Continue" to grant all requested permissions, "Edit this" to pick and choose which information to share, or "Cancel". Additionally, they can access the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy for review.

Authentication Permissions Forms TW LI
Twitter combines the Authentication step and Permissions acceptance step into one screen where the user can review the Permissions being requested before identifying themselves and entering their login credentials. Additionally, they can access the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy for review.

Authentication Permissions FormsLI
LinkedIn combines the Authentication step and Permissions acceptance step into one screen where the user can review the Permissions being requested before identifying themselves and entering their login credentials. Additionally, they can access the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy for review.


Step 1.
Authentication Permissions FormsGoogle.png.001
Google separates the Authentication and Permissions into three steps.






Step 2.
Authentication PermissionsGoogle2
After identifying themselves by entering their gmail address, the user then enters their password on the next screen (not shown), after which the user can review the Permissions being requested and then choose between "Allow" to grant all requested permissions, or "Deny" the requested permissions.






Step 3.
Authentication PermissionsGoogle.png.001


Additionally, they can access the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy for review.